Award Finalists Announced


Judging committees have determined the following finalists for the TIL awards. Winners will be announced at the banquet in Dallas on April 30.


Jesse Jones Award for Fiction ($6,000) and Steven Turner Award for First Fiction ($1,000)
Rick Bass, Nashville Chrome (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt).
Bruce Machart, The Wake of Forgiveness (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt).
Jan Reid, Comanche Sundown (TCU Press).
Jim Sanderson, Faded Love (Ink Brush Press).


Carr P. Collins Award for Nonfiction ($5,000)
S.C. Gwynne, Empire of the Summer Moon: Quanah Parker and the Rise and Fall of the Comanches, the Most Powerful Indian Tribe in American History (Simon & Schuster).
Gary Lavergne, Before Brown: Heman Marion Sweatt, Thurgood Marshall and the Long Road to Justice (University of Texas Press).
Geoff Winningham, Traveling the Shore of the Spanish Sea: The Gulf Coast of Texas and Mexico  (Texas A&M University Press).


TIL Award for Scholarly Book ($3,000)
Neil Foley, Quest for Equality: The Failed Promise of Black-Brown Solidarity (Harvard University Press).
Judith N. McArthur and Harold L. Smith, Texas through Women's Eyes: The Twentieth-Century Experience (University of Texas Press).
Carl Moneyhon, Edmund J. Davis: Civil War General, Republican Leader, Reconstruction Governor (TCU Press).


Helen C. Smith Memorial Award for Poetry ($1,200) and Bob Bush Memorial Award for First Book of Poetry ($1,000)
Smith Award:
Carrie Fountain, Burn Lake (Penguin Books).
Jeffrey Greene, Beautiful Monsters (Pecan Grove Press).
Barbara Ras, The Last Skin (Penguin Poets).

Bush Award:
Elyse Fenton, Clamor (Cleveland State University Poetry Center).
Trey Moore, Some Will Play the Cello (Pecan Grove Press).
Dean Rader, Works & Days (Truman State University Press).


O. Henry Award for Magazine Journalism ($1,000)
Melissa del Bosque, “Children of the Exodus,” Texas Observer, Oct. 29, 2010.
Pamela Colloff, “Innocence Lost,” Texas Monthly, October 2010.
Michael Hall, “About a Boy: The Life and Death of Johnny Romano, the Youngest Professional Skateboarder Ever,” Texas Monthly, September 2010.
Mimi Swartz, “The Lost Girls,” Texas Monthly, April 2010.


Kay Cattarulla Award for Short Story ($1,000)
Ben Fountain, “Things You Do with your Feet,” Iowa Review, Spring 2010.
Dagoberto Gilb, “please, thank you,” Harper’s Magazine, June 2010.
C.W. Smith, “Caustic,” Southwest Review, Summer 2010.


Stanley Walker Award for Newspaper Journalism ($1,000)
Joe Holley, Houston Chronicle, for a series that explores five regions of Texas that help define the political and social fabric of the Lone Star State.
Tim Madigan, Fort Worth Star-Telegram, “In His Care, A Surgeon's Story,” a series that chronicles one particularly difficult week in the life of Dr. David Donahue, the head of neurosurgery at Cook Children's Medical Center.
David Tarrant, Dallas Morning News, a series that explores “The War at Home.”


Fred Whitehead Award for Design of a Trade Book ($750)
Julie Savasky, The Gernsheim Collection by Roy Flukinger (University of Texas Press).
Bryce Milligan, Uncertain Ground by Carolyn Osborn (Wings Press).
Bryce Milligan, Borderlines by Steven Schneider and Reefka Schneider (Wings Press).


Austin Public Library Friends Foundation Award, Children’s Book ($500)
Diane Gonzales Bertrand, The Party for Papa Luis/ La Fiesta Para Papa Lui (Arte Público Press).
Alan Birkelbach, Smurglets Are Everywhere (TCU Press).


Austin Public Library Friends Foundation Young Adult Book ($500)
Dotti Enderle, Crosswire  (Boyds Mills Press).
René Saldaña, A Good Long Way  (Arte Público Press).



Return Home