

# TIL literary contests now open with prizes totaling more than \$23,000

The Texas Institute of Letters has named its distinguished judges for its literary contests, which are now open for submissions. Judges will select finalists and winners in thirteen categories for the best works published in 2017. Winners will be awarded a total of more than \$23,000 at the TIL's annual meeting, to be held on April 6-7, 2018 in San Antonio.

#### To submit works for award consideration:

- I. Complete online contest entry form and pay entry fee (\$20 for book awards / \$10 for short story & journalism awards): <a href="https://form.jotform.us/71805100339145">https://form.jotform.us/71805100339145</a>
- 2. Submissions of works must be mailed to the appropriate judging committee members. Addresses are listed below. Since there are three members for each committee, you will need to send a copy of the work to each judge. Include a brief note inside explaining which contest the book is being entered for.
- 3. Authors or their representatives should not have any contact with judges other than to submit work to each judge.
- 4. A book can only be entered in one category.
- 5. Submissions must be postmarked no later than January 2, 2018.
- 6. All works entered must be published in a print format during 2017: Unpublished manuscripts and online publications will not be considered.
- 7. To be considered, an entry must be the first published version of the work.
- 8. A person or publisher may enter only one work per author per contest category for the writing contests; a person or publisher may enter only one work per designer for the book design contest. In other words, a publisher may enter different works by different authors or designers in one category but cannot submit more than one book by the same author or designer in one category.

#### CONTEST CATEGORIES AND JUDGES

#### Jesse H. Jones Award for Best Work of Fiction (\$6,000)

Pati Griffith, 7707 13th NW, Washington, DC 20012 Alicia Gaspar de Alba, 1506 Meadowbrook Rd. Los Angeles, CA 90019 Steven G. Kellman, 302 Fawn Dr. Shavano Park, TX 78231-1519

#### Sergio Troncoso Award for Best Work of First Fiction (\$1,000)

Pati Griffith, 7707 13th NW, Washington, DC 20012 Alicia Gaspar de Alba, 1506 Meadowbrook Road, Los Angeles, CA 90019 Steven G. Kellman, 302 Fawn Drive, Shavano Park, TX 78231-1519

#### Carr P. Collins Award for Best Book of Non-fiction (\$5,000)

Judyth Rigler, 1735 Avenida Alturas NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110-4944 Cary Clack, 1010 Locke #1305, San Antonio, TX 78208 Skip Hollandsworth, 6225 Glendora Ave. Dallas, TX 75230

#### Ramirez Award for Most Significant Scholarly Book (\$2,500)

T. Lindsay Baker, USPS only no UPS or Fedex, PO Box 507, Rio Vista, TX 76093 José Limón, 3618 California Ave. Long Beach, CA 90807 Ellen Riojas Clark, 930 East Sunshine Dr. San Antonio, TX 78228

#### Helen C. Smith Memorial Award for Best Book of Poetry (\$1,500)

Geoff Rips, 1311 Ardenwood Dr. Austin, TX 78722 Emmy Pérez, Creative Writing Program, ELABS 125, UTRGV, Edinburg, TX 78539 Chip Dameron, 4853 Lakeway Dr. Brownsville, TX 78520

#### John A. Robertson Award For First Book Of Poetry (\$1,000)

Geoff Rips, 1311 Ardenwood Dr. Austin, TX 78722 Emmy Pérez, Creative Writing Program, ELABS 125, UTRGV, Edinburg, TX 78539 Chip Dameron, 4853 Lakeway Dr. Brownsville, TX 78520 Edwin "Bud" Shrake Award for Short Nonfiction (\$1,000) This prize is for the best article or essay appearing in print newspapers, journals, or magazines. Multiple articles by a single author may be submitted — with a total not exceeding 10,000 words.

Rod Davis, 1503 Scottsdale Dr. Leander, TX 78641 Dick J. Reavis, 2902 Maple Springs Blvd. Dallas, TX 75235 Macarena Hernández, 3112 Willowbrook St. Waco, TX 76711

#### Kay Cattarulla Award for Best Short Story (\$1,000)

Gerald Duff,, 2 Foxmoor, Lebanon, IL 62254 C.M. Mayo, 1530 P B Lane # M1820, Wichita Falls, TX 76302-2612 Kathi Appelt, 1907 Comal Circle, College Station TX 77840

## H-E-B/Jean Flynn Best Children's Book (\$1,000) and H-E-B Best Young Adults Book (\$1,000) and Denton Record-Chronicle Best Children's Picture Book (\$1,000)

David Bowles, 4717 N FM 493, Donna, TX, 78537 Bryce Milligan, 627 E Guenther St. San Antonio, TX 78210 Oralia Garza de Cortes, 1901 Running Brook Dr. Austin, TX 78723

### Soeurette Diehl Fraser Award for Best Translation of a Book (\$1,000) Given biannually. Books published in 2016 and 2017 are eligible for consideration.

Marian Schwartz, 1207 Bickler Rd. Austin, TX 78704 Robin Davidson, 2540 Goldsmith St. Houston, TX 77030-1816 Curtis Bauer, 2802 22nd St. Lubbock, TX 79410

#### Fred Whitehead Award for Best Design of a Trade Book (\$750)

Note that this award is not based upon the book's size or financial support from sponsors. It is an award for a trade book — emphasis on trade book — showing the designer's craft including ingenuity of concept restrained by a limited budget, i.e. the usual amount a press might spend on book production without any extra funds. Please do not submit expensive, over-sized art, coffee table, etc., books for this award.

Lonn Taylor, UPS or FedEx only: 308 North Buckeye St. Fort Davis, TX 79734 Laura Wilson, 10621 Strait Lane, Dallas, TX 75229 Barbara Whitehead, 2513 Janice Dr. Austin, TX 78703

The Texas Institute of Letters is a non-profit established in 1936 to promote interest in Texas literature and to recognize literary achievement. The TIL's elected membership consists of the state's most recognized and serious writers of fiction, poetry, journalism, and scholarship. The membership includes winners of the Pulitzer Prizes in drama, fiction, and nonfiction, as well as prizes awarded by PEN and dozens of other regional and national award and grant-giving institutions.