

TIL literary contests now open with prizes totaling more than \$22,000

The Texas Institute of Letters has named its distinguished judges for its literary contests, which are now open for submissions. Judges will select finalists and winners in twelve categories for the best works published in 2018. Winners will be awarded a total of more than \$22,000 at the TIL's annual meeting, to be held on April 26-27, 2019 in McAllen, Texas.

To submit works for award consideration:

1. Complete online contest entry form and pay entry fee (\$20 for book awards / \$10 for short story & short nonfiction awards):

https://form.jotform.com/TexasInstituteofLetters/til-contest-form-2018

- 2. Submissions of works must be mailed to the appropriate judging committee members. Addresses are listed below. Since there are three members for each committee, you will need to send a copy of the work to each judge. Include a brief note inside each copy of the book or clipped to the article explaining for which contest the book is being entered.
- 3. Authors or their representatives should not have any contact with judges other than to submit work to each judge.
- 4. A book can only be entered in one category.
- 5. Submissions must be postmarked no later than January 15, 2019.
- 6. All works entered must be published in a print format during 2018: Unpublished manuscripts and online publications will not be considered.
- 7. To be considered, an entry must be the first published version of the work.
- 8. A person or publisher may enter only one work per author per contest category for the writing contests; a person or publisher may enter only one work per designer for the book design contest. In other words, a publisher may enter different works by different authors or designers in one category but cannot submit more than one book by the same author or designer in one category.

CONTEST CATEGORIES AND JUDGES

Jesse H. Jones Award for Best Work of Fiction (\$6,000)

Jose Skinner, 2308 S 2nd Street, Austin, TX 78704

Ann Weisgarber, RR 4, Box 225-E4, Galveston, TX 77554;

for packages shipped by UPS, FedEx: 22309 Vista del Mar, Galveston, TX 77554

Bret Johnston, 702 E Dean Keeton, Austin TX 78705

Sergio Troncoso Award for Best Work of First Fiction (\$1,000)

Jose Skinner, 2308 S 2nd Street, Austin, TX 78704

Ann Weisgarber, RR 4, Box 225-E4, Galveston, TX 77554;

for packages shipped by UPS, FedEx: 22309 Vista del Mar, Galveston, TX 77554

Bret Johnston, 702 E Dean Keeton, Austin TX 78705

Carr P. Collins Award for Best Book of Non-fiction (\$5,000)

Judyth Rigler, 1735 Avenida Alturas NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110-4944

José A. Rodriguez, 2512 Dallas Avenue, McAllen, TX 78501

Hugh Aynesworth, 3828 Townsend Drive, Dallas, TX 75229

Ramirez Award for Most Significant Scholarly Book (\$2,500)

Jerry Thompson, Regents Professor, Department of Humanities, PLG 216E, 5201 University Blvd., Laredo, TX 78041

Rita Urquijo Ruiz, 3614 Windgap Drive, San Antonio, TX 78230

Gary M. Lavergne, 509 Victoria Drive, Cedar Park, TX 78613

Helen C. Smith Memorial Award for Best Book of Poetry (\$1,500)

Kurt Heinzelman, 6106 Cherrylawn Circle, Austin, TX 78723

Sheryl Luna, 5755 W. 37th Avenue #201, Wheat Ridge, CO 80212

John Blair, Department of English, Flowers Hall, 601 University Drive, Texas State University, San Marcos, TX 78666

John A. Robertson Award For Best First Book Of Poetry (\$1,000)

Kurt Heinzelman, 6106 Cherrylawn Circle, Austin, TX 78723

Sheryl Luna, 5755 W. 37th Avenue #201, Wheat Ridge, CO 80212

John Blair, Department of English, Flowers Hall, 601 University Drive, Texas State University, San Marcos, TX 78666

Edwin "Bud" Shrake Award for Short Nonfiction (\$1,000) This prize is for the best article or essay appearing in print newspapers, journals, or magazines. Multiple articles by a single author may be submitted—with a total not exceeding 10,000 words.

Kathryn Jones, 5597 Highway 144 South, Walnut Springs, TX 76690

Michael Hurd, 1 Maywind Court, The Woodlands, TX 77381

Marcia Daudistel, (until November 1st) 413 Valplano Drive, El Paso, TX 79912;

(after November 1st) 11400 Penfield Lane, Albuquerque, NM 87111

Kay Cattarulla Award for Best Short Story (\$1,000)

Christine Granados, 608 Tanya Street, Fredericksburg, TX 78624 Betty Wiesepape, 1706 North Cheyenne Drive, Richardson, TX 75080 T. Lindsay Baker, P.O. Box 507, Rio Vista, TX 76093

Texas Institute of Letters Best Young Adult Book (\$1,000)

Renee Dyer, Weslaco East High School, 810 S. Pleasantview Drive, Weslaco, TX 78596

Evangelina Vigil, 4834 Rockwood Drive, Houston TX 77004 Jan Reid, 2107 West 11th Street, Austin, TX 78703

Jean Flynn Best Middle-Grade Book (\$1,000) and Texas Institute of Letters Best Picture Book (\$1,000)

María Elena Ovalle, 219 Santa Fe Street, Edinburg, TX 78541 Oralia Garza de Cortez, 1901 Running Brook Drive, Austin, TX 78723 Kathi Appelt, 1907 Comal Circle, College Station, TX 77840

Fred Whitehead Award for Best Design of a Trade Book (\$750)

Note that this award is not based upon the book's size or financial support from sponsors. It is an award for a trade book – emphasis on trade book – showing the designer's craft including ingenuity of concept restrained by a limited budget, i.e. the usual amount a press might spend on book production without any extra funds. Please do not submit expensive, over-sized art, coffee table, etc., books for this award.

Laura Wilson, 10621 Strait Lane, Dallas, TX 75229
Cliff Hudder, 85 W. White Willow Circle, The Woodlands, TX 77381
Steven Schneider, Creative Writing Program -- ELABS 326, The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, 1201 W. University Drive, Edinburg, TX 78539

The Texas Institute of Letters is a non-profit established in 1936 to promote interest in Texas literature and to recognize literary achievement. The TIL's elected membership consists of the state's most recognized and serious writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, and scholarship. The membership includes winners of the Pulitzer Prizes in drama, fiction, and nonfiction, as well as prizes awarded by PEN and dozens of other regional and national award and grant-giving institutions.

The Texas Institute of Letters values diversity, and affirmative action towards that diversity guides our policies and our programs. Our goal is to provide equal opportunity and representation to all distinguished writers without regard to race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, disability, marital status, veteran status, sexual orientation, genetic information or any other protected characteristic under applicable law. To truly reflect the population and the experience of all peoples living in Texas, we seek and value the benefits of diversity in membership, awardees, and administration.