

TIL literary contests now open with prizes totaling more than \$22,000

The Texas Institute of Letters has named its distinguished judges for its literary contests (see below), which are now open for submissions. Judges will select finalists and winners in twelve categories for the best works published in 2019. Winners will be awarded a total of more than \$22,000 at the TIL's annual meeting, to be held on March 27-28, 2020 in Georgetown, Texas.

To submit works for award consideration:

1. Complete online contest entry form and pay entry fee (\$20 for book awards / \$10 for short story & short nonfiction awards):

https://form.jotform.com/TexasInstituteofLetters/til-contest-form-2019

- 2. Submissions of works must be mailed to the appropriate judging committee members. Addresses are listed below. Since there are three members for each committee, you will need to send a copy of the work to each judge. Include a brief note inside each copy of the book or clipped to the article explaining for which contest the book is being entered.
- 3. Authors or their representatives should not have any contact with judges other than to submit work to each judge.
- 4. A book can only be entered in one category.
- 5. Submissions must be postmarked no later than January 4, 2020.
- 6. All works entered must be published in a print format during 2019, with the exception of the Cattarulla and Shrake awards. Works for the Cattarulla and Shrake awards must be published in print OR digital format during 2019. Unpublished manuscripts will not be considered.
- 7. To be considered, an entry must be the first published version of the work.
- 8. A person or publisher may enter only one work per author per contest category for the writing contests; a person or publisher may enter only one work per designer for the book design contest. In other words, a publisher may enter different works by different authors or designers in one category but cannot submit more than one book by the same author or designer in one category.

CONTEST CATEGORIES AND JUDGES

Jesse H. Jones Award for Best Work of Fiction (\$6,000)

John Blair (Chair), 141 Pluma Ct., San Marcos, TX 78666

William L. Clark, Literarity Book Shop, Pepper Tree Square, 5411 N. Mesa – 19B, El Paso, TX 79912

Dr. Sally Andrade, 15839 Eagle Cliff Street, San Antonio, TX 78232

Sergio Troncoso Award for Best Work of First Fiction (\$1,000)

John Blair (Chair), 141 Pluma Ct., San Marcos, TX 78666

William L. Clark, Literarity Book Shop, Pepper Tree Square, 5411 N. Mesa – 19B, El Paso, TX 79912

Dr. Sally Andrade, 15839 Eagle Cliff Street, San Antonio, TX 78232

Carr P. Collins Award for Best Book of Non-fiction (\$5,000)

Hugh Ainesworth (Chair), 3828 Townsend Drive, Dallas, TX 75229

José A. Rodriguez, 810 Maple Street, Edinburg, TX 78539

Mary Beth Rogers, 6335 W. Northwest Hwy, #913, Dallas, TX 75225

Ramirez Award for Most Significant Scholarly Book (\$2,500)

T. Lindsay Baker (Chair), P.O. Box 507, Rio Vista, TX 76093

Ellen Riojas Clark, 930 E. Sunshine Dr., San Antonio, TX 78228

Patrick Cox, Ph.D., 570 River Mountain Road, Wimberley, TX 78676

Helen C. Smith Memorial Award for Best Book of Poetry (\$1,500)

Robin Davidson, Ph.D. (Chair), Professor Emeritus of English/Creative Writing, Department of English, University of Houston-Downtown, One Main Street, S1094, Houston, TX 77002-1001

Katie Hoerth, MAES 20 Lamar University, P.O. Box 10023, Beaumont, TX 77710

Dr. Michael S. Collins, 404 Heather Lane, College Station, TX 77845

John A. Robertson Award For Best First Book Of Poetry (\$1,000)

Robin Davidson, Ph.D. (Chair), Professor Emeritus of English/Creative Writing, Department of English, University of Houston-Downtown, One Main Street, S1094, Houston, TX 77002-1001

Katie Hoerth, MAES 20 Lamar University, P.O. Box 10023, Beaumont, TX 77710

Dr. Michael S. Collins, 404 Heather Lane, College Station, TX 77845

Edwin "Bud" Shrake Award for Short Nonfiction (\$1,000) This prize is for the best article or essay appearing in newspapers, journals, or magazines. Multiple articles by a single author may be submitted — with a total not exceeding 10,000 words.

C.W. Smith (Chair), 6521 Malcolm Dr., Dallas, TX 75214

Steve Kellman, 302 Fawn Drive, Shavano Park, TX 78231-1519

Natalia Treviño, 11625 Shotgun Way, Helotes, TX 78023

Kay Cattarulla Award for Best Short Story (\$1,000)

Celeste Bedford Walker (Chair), 5310 Stuyvesant Lane, Houston, TX 77021 Jerry Thompson, Department of Humanities, TAMIU, 5201 University Blvd., Laredo, TX 78041

Britt Haraway, ELABS 125, UT-Rio Grande Valley, 1201 West University Dr., Edinburg, TX 78539

Texas Institute of Letters Best Young Adult Book (\$1,000)

Margie Darcy Longoria (Chair), 8500 Brazos Ave., Mission, TX 78573
Renee Dyer, Weslaco East High School, 810 S Pleasantview Dr., Weslaco, TX 78596
ATTN: Renee Dyer
Bob Flynn, 101 Cliffside Drive, Shavano Park, TX 78231

Jean Flynn Best Middle-Grade Book (\$1,000) and Texas Institute of Letters Best Picture Book (\$1,000)

Sharon Amastae (Chair), 3531 Fort Blvd., El Paso, TX 79930 Diana López, 4510 Grand Lake, Corpus Christi, TX 78413 Rose M. Catacalos, 1018 Avant Ave., San Antonio, TX 78210

Soeurette Diehl Fraser Award for Best Translation of a Book (\$1,000)

Given biennially. Books published in 2018 and 2019 are eligible for consideration.

Kurt Heinzelman (Chair), 6106 Cherrylawn Circle, Austin, TX 78723

Norma Cantú, Northrup Hall 244, One Trinity Place, San Antonio, TX 78212

Will Evans, Deep Vellum Publishing, 3000 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75226

The Texas Institute of Letters is a non-profit established in 1936 to promote interest in Texas literature and to recognize literary achievement. The TIL's elected membership consists of the state's most recognized and serious writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, and scholarship. The membership includes winners of the Pulitzer Prizes in drama, fiction, and nonfiction, as well as prizes awarded by PEN and dozens of other regional and national award and grant-giving institutions.

The Texas Institute of Letters values diversity, and affirmative action towards that diversity guides our policies and our programs. Our goal is to provide equal opportunity and representation to all distinguished writers without regard to race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, disability, marital status, veteran status, sexual orientation, genetic information or any other protected characteristic under applicable law. To truly reflect the population and the experience of all peoples living in Texas, we seek and value the benefits of diversity in membership, awardees, and administration.