

Naomi Shihab Nye wins Lifetime Achievement Award from the Texas Institute of Letters

October 8, 2018

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

The Texas Institute of Letters proudly announces the naming of San Antonio poet Naomi Shihab Nye as the winner of the prestigious Lon Tinkle Award for Lifetime Achievement. This is the highest honor given by the TIL, which was established in 1936 to recognize and celebrate the state's literary artists. The award will be presented to Nye in McAllen, Texas at its April 27, 2019 Awards Banquet.

Nye, the author and/or editor of more than 30 volumes, including *You & Yours*, best-selling poetry book of 2006, was elected to the Board of Chancellors of the Academy of American Poets in 2010, is a laureate of the 2013 NSK Neustadt Award for Children's Literature, and in 2017 was presented the May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award by the American Library Association. In addition, she has been Lannan Fellow, a Guggenheim Fellow, a Witter Bynner Fellow (Library of



Congress), and has received a Lavan Award from the Academy of American Poets, the Isabella Gardner Poetry Award, the Lee Bennett Hopkins Poetry Award, the Paterson Poetry Prize, four Pushcart Prizes, the Robert Creeley Prize, and "The Betty Prize" from Poets House, for service to poetry, and numerous honors for her children's literature, including two Jane Addams Children's Book Awards.

TIL President Carmen Tafolla calls Naomi Shihab Nye "a significant world voice, utilizing poetry to tie tightly the bonds of humanity." Nye's collection 19 Varieties of Gazelle was a finalist for the National Book Award. Her work has been presented on National Public Radio on A Prairie Home Companion and The Writer's Almanac. She has been featured on two PBS poetry specials including "The Language of Life with Bill Moyers" and also appeared on NOW with Bill Moyers. She has been affiliated with The Michener Center for writers at the University of Texas at Austin for 20 years, was poetry editor at The Texas Observer for 20 years, and is currently Professor of Creative Writing - Poetry at Texas State University.

For more information on Naomi Shihab Nye, visit her website at http://www.barclayagency.com/site/speaker/naomi-shihab-nye.

The <u>Texas Institute of Letters</u> is a non-profit honor society founded in 1936 to celebrate Texas literature and recognize distinctive literary achievement. The TIL's elected membership consists of the state's most respected writers, who have earned the acclamation of their peers. Previous Lifetime Achievement Award winners include Sandra Cisneros, Cormac McCarthy, Américo Paredes, Sarah Bird, Larry McMurtry and Vassar Miller, among others.

For more information on the Texas Institute of letters, visit our website, www.texasInstituteofLetters.org.

###